This is the "The Collections" page of the "Mission, Services & Policies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Mission, Services & Policies  

Last Updated: Nov 12, 2014 URL: http://rockinghamcc.libguides.com/policies Print Guide RSS Updates

The Collections Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

James Library Collections

The Gerald B. James Library offers a wide variety of materials and services to the students and faculty of Rockingham Community College and to the citizens of Rockingham County. Individuals are invited to come to the library to acquire materials needed for classes or for personal enrichment, to study, or to get assistance with special research needs.

The library houses more than 40,000 books, non-print media, periodicals, newspapers and other materials to support the instructional programs of the college. A staff member is always on hand to assist students in locating print and online information. The library also provides electronic access on campus and remote access to information including NCLive databases, eBooks, online newspapers, periodicals and more. Laptop computers are available to curriculum students for use in the library or bring your own laptop and make use of our wireless Internet access.

 

Rockingham County Historical Collections

Of interest to both the classroom student and the independent researcher in local history and genealogy is the collection of materials including deeds, wills, trusts, marriage notices and similar documents. Old newspapers, local histories, photographs and architectural surveys are also materials which are available. Within the limits of available funds, the library is committed to expanding the local history collection consistent with its role as an adjunct to classroom teaching and its role as the resource agency for a community institution.

The collection is a project of the Rockingham Community College Foundation, which is a group separate from, but supportive of, the college.  The Historical Consultant and the Historical Collections Room Clerk are part-time employees.  For this reason, those visitors needing special assistance are urged to call ahead when planning a visit.

Visit our website: http://rockinghamcc.libguides.com/hcr

Gerald B. James Library • Rockingham Community College • P.O. Box 38 • Wentworth, NC 27375 • Phone: (336) 342-4261 ext.2247 • Fax: (336) 342-1203

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip